General Information


Department of Biology was first opened under the Faculty of Science with the establishment of Fırat University in 1975 and later on April 4, 1978, this department was made into two separate departments as Zoology and Botany. In 1976-1977 Academic Year, it had 20 students. Since there are not enough number of teaching members in the department during the foundation phase, Faculty of Science, with the Higher Education Law No. 2547 issued in 1981, both sections were merged under the name of Biology Department. As of 2018, there are 8 Professors, 2 Associate Professors, 5 Assistant Professors and 7 Research Assistants in our department.
As of the 2016-2017 academic year, student intake was provided to the Molecular Biology and Genetics Program, which was opened within the department.